Sovarani Memorial College

NAAC Accredited A-Grade Institute

Affiliated to the University of Calcutta

About the Department

Welcome to the Department of Philosophy.

The department of Philosophy came into being along with the birth of Sovarani Memorial College on 1st December, 1971, as a symbol of hope and inspiration for students and guardians of this zone of rural Bengal. It was first offered to teach Philosophy (General) with Prof. Sunil Choudhury as Head of the Department. With reputation of the college as well as the department having spread far and wide, Honours Course was introduced in 2003. Since then the department produced plenty of successful students with first class being a yearly event. Now it boasts of around 130 students in Honours Course and around 600 students in General Course. The faculty of the department now consists of one Associate Professor, one Assistant Professor and four State Aided College Teachers (SACT, Category-I & II). The department now boasts of two teachers with Ph.D. It has a departmental library of its own with around 200 books for catering to the instant needs of its students in addition to the Central Library with around 22000 books in total. The department publishes a wall magazine every year with mostly its students as the writers. The department also organizes programs for extra curricular activities such as quiz, extempore, educational tour etc. every year to channelize their talents in diverse fields. Organizing seminars/webinars on diverse topics from time to time is its special feature. Teachers of the department are also engaged in UGC/Govt. sponsored research Projects such as Minor Research Project etc. Now the teachers are assimilating tech-based teaching methodology to help students through Online mode. Interactions with students have already started through Skype, G-Meet in Online classes. The department will have a quantum jump by the next few years when its infrastructural up-gradation program will be complete with funds from RUSA and State Govt., following this college having achieved the extraordinary feat of being assessed and accredited as "A-Grade" on 2nd December, 2016, by the NAAC.

Thanking You.

Dr. Vikram Narayan Debnath

Head of the Department

Department of Philosophy.